Facebook addiction – 25 Random Things About Me

While I went away to exert all my energy to “An Evening in December,” I discovered Facebook addiction.

fbookFacebook helped some of our cast members form an online community where we posted photos, lists, and discussions. One of our cast members, a foreign exchange student, returned to her country, but remains connected to her host family and friends by Facebook. In addition, Facebook has helped me reconnect with former team members and long-lost friends from the past. During the Presidential Inauguration ceremonies, Facebook’s server activity was incredible as eye-witnesses recorded their thoughts during that moment of “where were you when…?”

Of course, there are countless diversions in Facebook: applications and cute things to send to friends to let them know how much you care, causes you can support, groups you can join. Like anything, if you’re not careful and manage your time, you can waste hours on Facebook.

But the killer networking features of Facebook allow you to participate in informative applications that continue to connect your community of friends. For example, I chose to participate in writing “25 Random Things About Me.” My friends then discover facts, trivia, and thoughts about me, and Facebook makes it easy to encourage others to write theirs.

If you’re my Facebook friend, you’ve already seen this. If you’re not on Facebook, here again are…

25 Random Things About Me

1. I do little things to annoy my kids, intentionally. Hey, it’s only fair!

2. I still wonder how my mom and dad raised a huge family before the days of a Costco/Price Club/Sam’s Club/big box store.

3. I played clarinet from 4th grade through high school.

4. Once. At band camp. When I was still a skinny, nerdy freshman, I won a drill-down against the 120-member JFK Cougar marching band.

5. I have seen every episode of the original Star Trek, and can recite the most esoteric lines: “brain and brain, what is brain?” but I can’t remember what my wife asked me to do an hour ago.

6. I can recite pi to 17 decimal places, but my wife won’t let me touch the checkbook. She’s right.

7. I have never played on a competitive or recreational sport team in my life, thanks to childhood allergies.

8. My first job? Minimum wage was $2.10/hr.

9. I can whistle and “oooh” the notes to a song, both at the same time, thus a one-man duet.

10. I love a good powerful musical experience (a drum corps show comes to mind), when every cell in my body can FEEL the sound of the music.

11. I will cry at the sound of a little child’s voice reading scripture.

12. I love to study grocery store’s solutions to taxonomy problems…ok, those are big words for “where do they hide weird things that don’t fit under meat, produce, dairy, bakery, frozen”? Like lemon juice, raisins, wooden skewers, tea, those little cupcake wrappers.

13. I cannot sit still long enough to read one entire novel. Or one long chapter in a textbook. Or one long paragraph. Or one overly-complicated compound sentence.

14. I write for a living.

15. My iPod has a Christmas playlist with 239 songs, including 6 different arrangements of “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” (thanks to John Plastow).

16. I believe photography is art plus science. But good photography is more art than science. Translation: a great eye is more important than great equipment. I believe too many “photographers” fail because they have it backwards.

17. Since my stroke in ’06, my problem with short-term memory hasn’t…what was I saying?

18. If it’s on the menu, I will order liver and onions. (80% of the readers just gagged.)

19. I can cook an entire meal on a barbecue: veggies, bread, entree, fruit, even dessert.

20. I keep a daily food journal. It’s a shock to see it in black and white.

21. On August 4, 2008, my pedometer recorded 23,704 steps.

22. The first time I met my wife, I embarrassed her in a crowded airport terminal in Southern California. Two weeks later back in Sacramento, we started dating. 28 years later, we’re still dating. (She says I’m a slow learner.)

23. My wife and I love to ballroom dance, especially swing and cha-cha-cha.

24. I believe the saddest tragedy is a person who is wasting the talents that God gave ’em.

25. My life purpose has three verbs: simplify, serve, and sing.

Leave a Reply

