Credible source notes and Phil 4:8-9

Some of you may be getting ahead and wondering,

“If GeeWhiz had a stroke, and he’s writing all this from memory, how reliable are these memories?”

My answer: I’m a writer by profession, not a fiction writer, but a technical writer. My paying audience demands that I be accurate, brief, and clear.

So, while in the hospital, I asked for note paper, and filled three pages with notes and observations over the next three days (not counting a doodle page for when I was bored or the separate page of phone numbers that I didn’t want to forget). The blog entries you are reading are reconstructed memories of the three days of recovery in the hospital, based on those notes plus accounts from the eyewitnesses who visited me during my stay.

I will confess up front however that… …I’m delivering those facts using a writing style that is intentionally designed to keep you from falling asleep. I realize that I’m given my ten minutes of fame and many of you are hanging onto my every word, so I plan to earn your trust and your time by giving you something that is not only the truth, but also worth your time.

To conclude, my Christian mentor Stephen Farebrother and I are currently focusing on Philippians 4: 8-9, for another purpose, but not surprisingly has some relevance to this blog entry in an unexpected way:

“whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me – put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

Related Topics

(speaking of accurate, brief and clear, see my entry: “the ABCs just got a D” .)

One thought on “Credible source notes and Phil 4:8-9

  1. AG, what is noteworthy is who your source is…Jesus. Thank you for the reminder… for He is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admorable and worth focusing on. SF

Leave a Reply

